Treynor Community School District May 1, 2013 – Special Board Meeting 5:30 p.m. Board Room

The Treynor Community School District Board of Directors met in special session on May 1, 2013 in the Board Room. The meeting was called to order by President Paulsen at 5:31 p.m. Roll call was taken and Directors Paulsen, Young, and Funkhouser were present. Absent were Directors Hempel and Myers. Others in attendance were Supt. Elwood and Principal Navara.

Motion was made by Young, seconded by Paulsen to approve the agenda as presented. Motion carried unanimously.

Motion by Funkhouser, seconded by Young to approve bills, financial statements, and minutes of previous meetings. The motion carried unanimously.

Supt. Elwood reviewed letters of resignation from Gayle Richter (Elem. teacher), Tracy Jarrett (Elem. teacher), and Jennifer Travis (Yearbook sponsor). A motion was made by Young, with regret, to accept the resignations, seconded by Funkhouser and the motion carried unanimously.

Principal Navara and Supt. Elwood shared information and recommended the hiring of new staff, Bruce Tiarks (custodian), Heather Minssen (HS teacher), and Erin Coughlin (Yearbook sponsor). Motion by Funkhouser, seconded by Young to approve the hiring of new staff as presented. The motion carried unanimously.

Motion by Young, seconded by Funkhouser to approve the Class of 2013 graduates, pending the completion of all district requirements. The motion carried unanimously.

Supt. Elwood provided an update pertaining to construction progress on the new athletic complex.

There being no further discussion, motion by Young to adjourn. Funkhouser seconded the motion and the motion carried unanimously. Meeting adjourned at 5:54 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted,

Dave Paulsen, Board President

Kevin Elwood, Superintendent